Sign In Sign Up


Joint Convention of the Asia Pacific Association of Medical Journal Editors and the 5th Asian Science Editors Conference & Workshop 2018



Digital Standards and Editors’ Associations of Asia-Pacific Scientific Journals



Day 0 (July 17, 2018)


Pre-Convention World Health Organisation (WHO) Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM)- APAME Meetings


Room A

Room B

08:00 – 09:00

WRIM-APAME joint meeting


09:00 - 09:30

Photo session


09:30 – 10:00

Tea break


10:00 – 12:00

WPRIM regional journal selection committee  meeting

IMSEAR meeting (TBC)

12:00 – 13:00



13:00 – 14:30

General Assembly, APAME


14:30 – 15:00

Tea break


15:00 – 18:00

Optional city tour



Room A: IPB ICC meeting room A - level 3

Room B: IPB ICC side room – level 3


Day 1 (July 18, 2018)



Ballroom 1

Ballroom 2


08:00 – 08:30



08:30 – 08:40

Report by Chair of local committee   Komang G Wiryawan


08.40 – 08:50

CASE President's address by Banh Tien Long (Hanoi University of Science and Technology, Vietnam)


08:50 – 09:00

APAME President’s address by Wilfred CG Peh (Singapore)


09:00 – 09:10

Welcome speech by [Arif Satria] Rector of Bogor Agricultural University


09:10 – 09:20

Congratulatory address: [Mohamad Nasir] Minister of Research Technology and Higher Education, Indonesia


09:20 – 09:35

Break & Group Photo


09:35 – 10:15

Plenary lecture 1. [state topic of lecture] Anders Karlsson, Vice President, Elsevier



Ballroom 1

Ballroom 2

Room D

10:15 – 11:55

Country report –countries each 10 min

  1. Vietnam- Banh Tien Long
  2. Singapore- Ramanathan Subramaniam
  3. Indonesia- Lukman
  4. Malaysia- Yang Farina
  5. Philippines- [Komang is waiting reply from Toby Dayrit/ Mae Mendoza. If Komang cannot find presenter, Wilfred will nominate Merlita Opena]
  6. Lao PDR- [Seo JW to nominate]
  7. Thailand- Amorn Leelarasamee
  8. Brunei- Alice Yong
  9. Myanmar – [Wilfred contacted Sun Tun who will nominate someone from Myanmar]
  10. Cambodia – [Wilfred is awaiting reply from Ly Cheng Huy]


Special report on Current Status of Medical Publication in China - Yongmao Jiang (TBC)


Optional Special Satellite workshop

Room D 2018. 7. 18 10:45-18:00 

Medical education and Professionalism

Kiyoshi Kitamura (Japan)

11:55 – 13:00

Break and lunch


13.00 – 13:45

Workshop 1: Chair: Trevor Lane (COPE)

Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing and COPE flow chart

Presenters: Trevor Lane(COPE), Sam Mathew (India), Cheol-Heui Yun (Seoul National University)


13:45 – 14:30

Workshop 2: [Sun Huh to confirm chair and presenters]

Major service of Crossref:  DOI for scholarly contents, Cited-by function, Reference hypertext, Crossmark (Check for updates), FundRef (Open Funder Registry), Text and data mining (TDM), Meta data search, Similarity check (Crosscheck) for plagiarism detection

Tentative presenters: Rachael Lammey (Crossref),

Shivendra Naidoo (iThenticate) [Sun Huh to confirm presenters]


14:30 – 15:15

Workshop 3: Chair: Jae-Hwa Chang (InfoLumi)

Practice of manuscript editing

Tentative presenters Basil D'souza (Editage),

Jae-Hwa Chang (InfoLumi, Crossref Ambassador) [Please confirm presenters]


15:15 – 15:30

Coffee Break


15:30 – 16:15

Workshop 4 [Sun Huh to confirm chair and presenters]

How to add my journal to SCOPUS

Tentative presenters :


16:15 – 17:00

Workshop 5 [Sun Huh to confirm chair and presenters]

Open access journals in Asia and adding journal to Directory of Open Access Journal (DOAJ)

Tentative presenters: Tom Olijhoek (DOAJ editor-in-chief) , Soon Kim (Cactus Communications, Korea


17:00 – 17:45

Workshop 6 [Sun Huh to confirm chair and presenters]

How to add my journal to SCIE or ESCI

presenters: Dju-Lyn Chng(Clarivate in Singapore)


19:00 – 21:00

Welcome dinner at Ballroom I



Case board meeting

2016-2018 board meeting July 18, 16:15-17:00 room F


Day 2 (Jul 19, 2018)



Ballroom I

Ballroom II

08:00 - 08:30



08:30 – 08:55

Plenary lecture 2. [state topic of lecture] Sejin Kim, NAVER Academic

08:55 – 09:20

Plenary lecture 3. [topic TBC] Muhammad Dimyati

Director General of Research and Development Strengthening of the Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education of the Republic of Indonesia

09:20 – 09:40

Plenary lecture 4. [state topic of lecture] Siswanto, Director General of National Institute of Health Research and Development

09:40 – 10:00

Coffee break

10:00 – 11:00

Parallel Session 1 (CASE): Chair: Sun Huh (South Korea)

Upgrade the digital standards of Asia STM journals to be indexed in international databases


Presenters: Tony Alves (Aries Systems), Yoon-Sang Cho (South Korea)

Parallel Session 2 (APAME): Chair: Nicholas Tally (Australia)

How to make my journal more successful


Presenters: Nicholas Tally (Australia), Peter L Munk (Canada), Trevor Lane (COPE)

11:00 – 12:00

Parallel Session 3 (CASE): Chair: Komang Wiryawan (Indonesia)


National editors’ associations and Regional networks


Establishment of Indonesian Association of Scientific Journal Editors (Komang Wiryawan, Indonesia)


ASEAN Citation Index ( Edy Soewono, Indonesia)

Parallel Session 4 (APAME): Chair: Wilfred CG Peh (Singapore)


Peer review concepts, models and updates

Presenters: Wilfred CG Peh (Singapore), Saw Aik (Malaysia), Tyler Coupal (Canada), Beverley Yamamoto (Japan), Jose FF Lapena (Philippines)

12:00 -13:00

General assembly (CASE)

 13:00-13:30    (Lunch)


Ballroom I

Ballroom II

13:30 – 14:30

Parallel Session 5 (CASE): Chair: Ramanathan Subramaniam (Singapore),

Open access and open research collaboration


Presenters: Ramanathan Subramaniam (Singapore), KiHong Kim (South Korea), Taesul Seo (South Korea)

Parallel Session 6 (APAME): Chair: Qian Qing (China)

Issues in medical publishing


Presenters: Qian Qing (China), In Hong Choi (South Korea), Shamima Parvin Lasker (Bangladesh)

14:30 – 15:30

Group meetings (1-2)

“How to develop science journals in Asia”

Group 1: Agricultural and Natural science editors- Chair: Cheol Heui Yun (South Korea)

Group 2: Engineering editors- Chair: Jinnil Choi (South Korea)

Group meetings (3-4)

Group 3: Medical Health editors- Chair: Jeong-Wook Seo (South Korea) Group 4: Social Science and other areas [CASE to nominate chair]

15:30 - 16:30

Closing ceremony: Sadjuga (Director of Intellectual Property Management)

Awards of presentation


Coffee break


Case board meeting

2018-2020 board meeting July 19, 15:00-16:00 room F